Approved: August 13, 2020

MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 248 GIRARD, KS JULY 30, 2020

The Board of Education of Unified School District 248 met in the GHS/GMS Library on Thursday, July 30, 2020-also over ZOOM. President, Dave Goble, called the Special Board meeting to order at 8 am. Board members present were: Dave Goble, Lori Johnson, Peggy Marshall, Beth Murphy, Kelly Peak and Dale Shireman. Also present were: Superintendent, Blaise Bauer; Clerk, Becky Mein; Treasurer, Laurie Masters; HS Principal, Todd Ferguson; HS Assistant Principal, Chris Swartz; GMS Principal, BJ Pruitt; RVH Principal, Tina Daniel; RVH Assistant Principal, Joni Benso; GHS Multi Media Teacher, Amy Gray and Technology Director, Cindy Murphy.

Absent was: Board Member, Roger Breneman.

The purpose of this meeting is to amend the 2020-2021 School calendar, to approve the 2020-2021 Return to School policy guide and an Executive Session for personnel discussion.

Superintendent, Blaise Bauer and Building Administrators presented the 2020-2021 Return to School Policy Guide and the 2020-2021 Remote Learning Plan.

Dale Shireman moved, Peggy Marshall seconded the motion to approve the 2020-2021 Back to School Plan and Remote Learning plan, with leeway to update if changes are made by Crawford County Health Officials or County Commissioners. Motion carried. 6-0.

Beth Murphy moved, Lori Johnson seconded the motion to approve the amended 2020-2021 School Calendar, with school beginning on August 18th. Motion carried. 6 – 0.

Dale Shireman moved, Lori Johnson seconded the motion for an Executive Session at 9:15 am for a period of 10 minutes, for the purpose of personnel discussion exception under KOAM with the Board Members, Superintendent and Building Administrators present. Motion carried. 6-0.

Back to regular session at 9:25 am.

Dale Shireman moved, Lori Johnson seconded the motion to approve the resignations of Jenna Vitt-RVH Kindergarten Teacher and Julie Hays-Food Service Employee. Motion carried. 6-0.

Peggy Marshall moved, Beth Murphy seconded the motion for adjournment of the meeting at 9:28 pm. Motion carried. 7 - 0

Becky Mein Clerk